Some love using Flipped Learning

I have only recently heard the term Flipped Learning, having no idea what it is, I fund some information and was pleasantly surprised to find it is something we have been doing for years. Maybe this is down to my subject area Business or maybe it’s to do with the institutions I worked in and their flexible approach to curriculum delivery.

So what is Flipped learning?

well according to the Flipped Learning Network:

Flipped Learning is a pedagogical approach in which direct instruction moves from the group learning space to the individual learning space, and the resulting group space is transformed into a dynamic, interactive learning environment where the educator guides students as they apply concepts and engage creatively in the subject matter.

FlippedLearning.org

Many of the examples of this type of learning seem to involve internet based technology, making YouTube videos and that sort of thing. But I think it’s also important to remember that this type of approach can be used without the internet. I remember asking learners to read the business section of the news paper, find topics they wanted to share, research the area, then bring their findings into class and present to us. I would also set similar tasks with groups, sometimes putting them into groups and other times allowing them to form their own groups, some times they would be given the same topic, for example PESTLE (Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Legal, Environmental) analysis, other times the they would be given parts of the topic for example each group would be given the task of preparing learning content on one of the PESTLE headings.

How did I learn this approach to teaching?

It’s a mixture of the way I was taught at college, what I read in further education teaching books and what I loved about learning at university, the focus on independent learning and self guided discovery.

Is this an example of flipped learning? I have no idea but it is an approach I will continue to use because it supports differentiation and it’s less boring than some of the alternatives, I think business is a great subject but some think it’s rather boring so anything that makes it fun or less boring is great.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

